top of page
  • huma252

A Beginner's Guide to Tarot: Understanding the Major Arcana

A tarot is a type of divination that uses a set of cards to gain insight into the past, present, and future. Here is a beginner's guide to tarot:

Get a Tarot Deck:

The first step is to acquire a tarot deck. There are many different decks available, and it's important to find one that resonates with you.

Understand the Structure of the Tarot:

The tarot consists of 78 cards, divided into two main groups: the Major Arcana (22 cards) and the Minor Arcana (56 cards). The Major Arcana cards represent significant life events or archetypal energies, while the Minor Arcana cards reflect the everyday experiences and challenges of life.

Learn the Meanings of the Cards:

Each card has a specific meaning, and it's important to learn these meanings in order to interpret the cards accurately. There are many books and online resources available to help you learn the meanings of the cards.

Choose a Spread:

A tarot spread is a specific layout of cards that is used to answer a particular question or provide insight into a particular situation. There are many different spreads to choose from, ranging from simple three-card spreads to more complex spreads like the Celtic Cross.

Shuffle and Draw the Cards:

Once you have chosen a spread, shuffle the deck and draw the cards. As you lay out the cards, think carefully about the question or situation you are seeking insight into.

Interpret the Cards:

Once you have laid out the cards, it's time to interpret them. Look at the cards individually and as a group, and consider how they relate to the question or situation you are asking about. Use your intuition and any knowledge you have gained about the cards to interpret their meanings.

Practice, Practice, Practice:

Tarot is a skill that takes time and practice to develop. The more you practice, the more comfortable you will become with the cards and the easier it will be to interpret them accurately.

A tarot is a form of divination that uses a deck of 78 cards to gain insight into a person's life, experiences, and future. The deck is divided into two parts: the Major Arcana and the Minor Arcana. The Major Arcana consists of 22 cards, each representing a different archetype or concept.

Understanding the Major Arcana is a great place to start for beginners. Each card has its own unique meaning, symbolism, and message. Here is a brief overview of the 22 Major Arcana cards:

  1. The Fool - represents new beginnings, innocence, and a sense of adventure.

  2. The Magician - symbolizes manifestation, creation, and the power of transformation.

  3. The High Priestess - represents intuition, wisdom, and hidden knowledge.

  4. The Empress - symbolizes fertility, creativity, and abundance.

  5. The Emperor - represents authority, structure, and control.

  6. The Hierophant - symbolizes tradition, religion, and spirituality.

  7. The Lovers - represents love, connection, and relationships.

  8. The Chariot - symbolizes determination, willpower, and victory.

  9. Strength - represents courage, inner strength, and overcoming challenges.

  10. The Hermit - symbolizes solitude, introspection, and self-discovery.

  11. The Wheel of Fortune - represents change, cycles, and destiny.

  12. Justice - symbolizes fairness, balance, and the law.

  13. The Hanged Man - represents surrender, letting go, and sacrifice.

  14. Death - symbolizes transformation, endings, and new beginnings.

  15. Temperance - represents balance, harmony, and moderation.

  16. The Devil - symbolizes temptation, materialism, and bondage.

  17. The Tower - represents upheaval, chaos, and sudden change.

  18. The Star - symbolizes hope, inspiration, and new opportunities.

  19. The Moon - represents the unconscious mind, intuition, and the mysteries of life.

  20. The Sun - symbolizes success, positivity, and abundance.

  21. Judgment - represents evaluation, rebirth, and awakening.

  22. The World - symbolizes completion, fulfillment, and the end of a cycle.

As you become more familiar with the meanings of the Major Arcana, you can begin to use them to gain insight into your own life or the lives of others. Remember, the cards are simply a tool to help you access your own intuition and inner wisdom. Trust your instincts and don't be afraid to ask for help or guidance when needed.

4 views0 comments
bottom of page